Concept Group 2

I’m a little late updating the blog  this week.  The activity we did in kindergarten was not one of the activities I had posted on the vocabulary page, so it held me up.   It is posted as Cars and Maps now.   A parent kindly donated a few boxes of match box cars.  These with the ones I had were enough for 32 kids.  We divided the children up into groups of 8 with one adult.  We had a volunteer college student, the teacher, the assistant, a counselor  and I.  I unfortunately didn’t have 5 maps because I didn’t know we would have the 5th adult.   Our classes weren’t as large last year so I have materials for groups of 4. So mental note;  I should have enough for 5 groups because volunteers tend to show up unexpectedly.  The office tends to send the college students to kindergarten.  It’s a great place to start for classroom observation don’t you think?   After all, all you need to know in life you learn in kindergarten.

I find playing a board game tells me who is familiar with game etiquette and how to work the spinner.  It’s important that each child remembers what their car looks like so you may want to do some comparison of details before you start.  We of course had two cars that looked very similar.

With a board game, you can start working on turn taking and not getting upset when the turn doesn’t meet your expectation.  These are important skills in kindergarten.  People tend to forget control and handling disappointment are skills.   The spinner I use  has ” missed a turn” on it.  Some people would probably avoid having that on a spinner, but I think that adds the ability to practice another skill.  I forwarn the children what that means so they aren’t surprised when they get it.  I also have a “spin again”.  The actual winning is deemphasized.  It’s more important to complete the track.  If time allows,  I will allow each child to make it to the finish line.

This is only our 2nd full week of school for kindergarten, so I was impressed with their ability to take turns.  They were convinced to leave the cars on the board until their turn and handled the disappointment of the  missed turn.   I found everyone was not familiar with all the concepts.  We have a few english learners and a few children on IEPs so that wasn’t a surprise.  My other adults thought it was a good experience so session 2 was declared a success.

car map

Leave a Reply

