Game Shopping

I made a trip to Goodwill today.  It’s my favorite place to shop for games and game pieces.  I’m probably one of the few people who doesn’t care if  some games are missing  pieces.  I supplement a lot of the games I already own so more children can play at the same time or I can replace lost parts.   I found I can often find directions to a game on the internet, if they are missing.  Part of a game can also be a source of inspiration for another game.

 What’s interesting to see is how games have changed over the years.  A few  of my games started out wood and are now made of plastic.  The kids marvel that some of my games are over 20 years old and I still have the parts to play.  It makes for a good discussion of taking care of what you own and having respect for another person’s property.  

   Parents will often ask me what they can do at home to help their children who have language delays.  The main complaint is they get one word responses like  “fine” when they try to talk to them.  We are in the golden age of technology and communication but it doesn’t seem to be at a family level.  There seems to be less opportunities for family members to actual talk to one another.  The trick is to create an opportunity for communication other than just asking questions.  Provide opportunities to talk about  impersonal topics and the personal ones will come along also.    I think a family game night can go far in creating a language rich experience and communication opportunity.   It’s one thing that has fallen off the grid with technology taking its place.  Children enjoy the interaction and it isn’t just another homework assignment.

There are quite a few commercial games that lend to vocabulary development and creative thinking.   For older students working on word associations and more global thinking, I have found  Apples to Apples, In a Pickle, and Scattergories to be good.  For younger students games such as  Kerplunk,  Don’t Spill the Beans, and Hi Ho Cherry O Game review concepts such as least, most, and more.  There are some good ones that aren’t  published anymore but keep you eyes open for them at garage sales etc.  Often the games don’t even look like they have been used.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

