One Cut Books

Summer break is finally here.  Another school year has come to a close but as an educator I am always on the outlook for new things I can use for next year.  Our kindergarten students only attend school half day sessions.   I usually  schedule speech therapy  sessions for 30 minute once a week beyond our push in group sessions.  I make homework packets that students can take home for extra practice and exchange the next time they come.  I try to find things that can be replaced easily if for some reason they don’t make it back.  I use gallon zip-lock bags.  I put a letter explaining it is a homework packet and needs to be returned the next week.  I also put directions for the activity if necessary.  I then add whatever I think would be good for the student to practice on.  I’ve had good luck getting these back and I like that I can get multiple uses from them.

The June ASHA Leader listed   internet sites  for book making.  I think the One-cut books will be great for my homework packets.  They can be made from one 8 1/2 by 11 inch paper.   http://www.raft.net/ideas/Simple%20Book.pdf

A group of them have already been made for you thanks to Judy Kuster and 22 graduate students at Minnesota State University.  Just go to this site

http://www.mnsu.edu/comdis/kuster2/onecutbooks/onecutbooks.html. Thank you grad students.

If you would like to make your own, here is a site that provides the template. http://www.readwritethink.org/classroom-resources/student-interactives/stapleless-book-30010.html

Leave a Reply

