Homework to Dismissal

Getting my kids working on articulation skills to generalize their skills to settings outside the therapy room is always a bit of a challenge.  I try to emphasize that this is their responsibility and I can not follow them around to make sure they practice.  In the end it is their parents and teachers that let me know when they are ready to be dismissed from speech therapy.  I’ve worked out a system of homework assignments to allow them to practice outside the room and give me input from parents, teachers and family friends.  I use the  homework rating scale form that is listed in the therapy forms page on this site.   I then allow them to pick poems and riddles from such sites as Ken Nesbitt’s site, print them out, and put them in the folder.  They enjoy reading these poems to other people.  They then get rated on the rating scale and bring the folder back to me.  I allow them to put marbles in a group jar according to the number they received on the rating scale.  When the jar is full I allow a reward such as popcorn or a shaved ice party.  I get more cooperation with bringing the folder back when I do this.  I also tell them that when they get a series of 5 s I know they are ready for dismissal.  Because the parents have helped monitor the last phase, I have no difficulty with them agreeing with me when I ask about dismissal.

1 Comment

  1. andrea

    Thanks so much for the carryover tips!

Leave a Reply

