Before and After Picture Sentence Cards

It is Spring Break for me.  I have time to get some creative juices flowing.    Just before break, we had our annual book fair.  One of the  hot items was a “Top Secret UV Pen”.  I was lucky enough to get one before they sold out, although teachers were saying it was one of the main items they had to confiscate later after multiple reminders to put it away.  Maybe I should have just waited and one would have come my way.  Anyway they are pretty inexpensive, in the $3 range.  Book fairs are not that different from school to school so maybe you have seen the pens too.  I know you are itching to try it out so I am providing the perfect opportunity.

When  I saw this item an idea came to mind.   I knew my students enjoyed a Super Duper item that had a decoder light.  I thought I could make some of my cards more motivating by using it in the same way.   It would be perfect for my before and after cards.   Many of my students have difficulty with the semantics of when to use before or after.   I made  a deck of before and after cards with pictures for my non readers quite a few years ago.  They were lost in my move last Spring and  I dearly missed those cards.  Unfortunately they weren’t digital. This pen motivated me to make  another set.   This time I left a frame where I used the UV pen to  write before and after depending on the sentence.  The students can light up the answer to see if they are correct. The cards are still very useful even if you don’t have the UV light.

I made a free set of 9 cards on 3 pages for you to try out.  If you have the UV light you can add the light the answer feature.  I am not sure if the UV will work if they are laminated.  I’ll have to see when I get back to work.  Anyway try out these free cards and if you want more I’ll have a set of 30 at the TPT store.

TPT store set of 21 in addition to the 9 trial cards.

WordPress before and after free set of 9 trial  cards

BA WP

Leave a Reply

